Pondering

I feel like I have changed since the last time I posted.  I have changed mentally,  spiritually and occupationally.

This year was my first time going to Women of Faith.  Words can not express fully how this weekend inspired and changed me.  I felt the Holy Spirit working in me like never before.  My challenge now is to keep this momentum/feeling going now that I am back living in the real world.  How do we translate our excitement, our spark, the je ne sais quoi in the drudgery of every day?

The first thing I need to do is look at every day as a gift.  It’s not drudgery.  We may repeat some things everyday but it is making the best of those and making sure that we see God  in every detail. A friend sent me this verse yesterday . 1 Corinthians 2:9 NCV “But as it is written in the Scriptures: “No one has ever seen this, and no one has ever heard about it. No one has ever imagined what God has prepared for those who love him.””  WOW.  If we don’t see God in the details of our everyday life, will we every really see what He has prepared for us on earth let alone in heaven?  He has GREAT plans for each and everyone of us.

Second thing is keeping my mind focused on Him.  I have made the decision to listen to only Christian music.  My new favourite right now is Natalie Grant’s In the End. 

I am also choosing to read books that are helpful and instructional for my faith.  I do still read fiction but I am trying to make sure I always have something that keeps me close to God.  I recently finished reading The Circle Maker by Mark Batterson and I am currently reading god’s at War by Kyle Idleman and The Power of a Praying Wife by Stormie Omartian.  Let me just say the Power of a Praying Wife is stretching me…it is a good stretch  but a tad out of my comfort zone because I have always been an independent female.

Third I am trying to change how I pray.  I want to pray more, about all things that are on my mind and I want to pray differently.  I want to talk to God and not just pray words that I think I am supposed to say in a way that I would never talk to someone normally.  I want to pray like I am having a conversation with my best friend.  I want to pray like I do when I discuss and ask for advice from my mother. I also want to listen more.  To be open to His promptings and really hear what it is He wants me to do or not do.

I am still trying to get healthy.  It is a struggle.  I know that I can only do this with God’s help.   A friend posted on Facebook this reminder:  If you keep trying, you are not failing! ~Mark Batterson, The Circle Maker  It reminds me that I need to keep trying and giving it to God.  I am not the food I eat or the emotions that Satan uses to tease and entice me into eating things that “make me feel better” but really only make me feel worse.  I am Trying, I am NOT failing!

So what keeps your Faith Alive?  What are the things you do to keep yourself in the spirit?

CW Signature

 

“Believe that Something Great is About to Happen because God Can do Anything”

Hebrews 11:1 Faith is the confidence that what we hope for will actually happen; it gives us assurance about things we cannot see.

Leave a comment