Waiting

* Note I typed this but did not publish before I knew whether I was offered the job.  I am pleased to say that I was and have accepted.

1818

Why is it that when we know that God has spoken to us with regards to events happening, do we still question his timing? Jeremiah 29:11  For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.”  I know that anything that He has planned for me can only be better than what I have in my own mind.  I truly believe that God speaks to us through many different ways.  We need to be in tune and be listening.

I have been waiting to hear about a job opportunity for over a month.  There has been back and forth.  I felt God’s peace that this was the right choice and it’s ok to leave where I am.  So now I wait…

Not so good at waiting.  I feel like a kid.  Waiting for the boy to ask her out.  Waiting for my exam marks.  Waiting to hear whether I was accepted to University.  Waiting to see the pregnancy test results.  We as humans try to take so many things into our own hands.  We have been watching a series by Steve Furtik in our small group and this week was about Control.  God has given us all some control.  We can control how we study to help us when it comes time for exams.  We can work hard in school and get good grades to help us get into university.  We can…well you know what you need to do to get pregnant, sex (which is a gift from God…intended to be included in a loving marriage).  So many things we have control over  but it is when we have done all that we can do and then  have to wait.  This is where we truly need to rely on God to give us peace and understanding.  Sometimes it’s a quick answer.  Yes or No or Maybe.  Sometime we can wait a while or a long time.  Some of these things may not be big deals for you and some may be huge.   If you are sure that you have done all that you can then simple wait for His help!

Here are some of the verses I found that help me when I let my mind go and get antsy.

Isaiah 30:18 (NLT)

Blessings for the Lord’s People

18 So the Lord must wait for you to come to him so he can show you his love and compassion. For the Lord is a faithful God.  Blessed are those who wait for his help.

Psalm 25:5 (NLT)

Lead me by your truth and teach me,  for you are the God who saves me.  All day long I put my hope in you.

Lamentations 3:25(NLT)

25 The Lord is good to those who depend on him, to those who search for him.

Isaiah 64:4 (NLT)

For since the world began, no ear has heard and no eye has seen a God like you, who works for those who wait for him!

God is a faithful God and I know that what is coming is greater than I can imagine.

CW Signature

“Believe that Something Great is About to Happen because God Can do Anything”

Hebrews 11:1 Faith is the confidence that what we hope for will actually happen; it gives us assurance about things we cannot see.

 

Leave a comment